Edit

Saving Your Document

The file is automatically saved when you exit MoneyWorks, close the document using the Close document command, or shortly after the last user disconnects.

If you are the only user, you can force a save of your file, by using the Save command—this will safely update the original document with your changes. To remind you to save, you can set the automatic prompt in the Saving Preferences so that a regular reminder message is given.

To save your document:

  1. Choose File>Save or press Ctrl-S/⌘-S

The document will be saved for you. Depending on the size of your document, this may take a few seconds.

The save command is not always available—it is disabled for example, if you are in the middle of entering a transaction or doing a bank reconciliation.

Note: If you are creating or modifying a custom report, an analysis report, or a form, the save command will save the report/form, and not the document.

Changing Documents

Unless the Multiple Instance MoneyWorks Preference is on, you will only be able to have one MoneyWorks document open at a time. If you are working on one document and wish to start using another, you need to first close your current document and then open the new one.

To close the current document:

  1. Choose File>Close «Document Name»

The document will closed and the MoneyWorks welcome screen will be displayed. Any changes made to the document are automatically saved when the document is closed.

To open the new document:

  1. Choose File>Open or click the Open button on the Navigator

The standard File Open dialog box will be displayed. You will need to locate your file in this and open it in the normal manner.

To open a recently used document:

  1. Choose File>Open Recent>«DocumentName»

or: Right Click on the Welcome screen and choose the document